TECT elects new Chair Bill Holland

Thursday August 21, 2014

TECT elects new Chair

Read the article in the Bay of Plenty Times.

Media release 20 August 2014 from TECT.

Bill Holland has been elected as the new Chairperson of the Tauranga Energy Consumer Trust (TECT).

The appointment was made at the first Board meeting of the Trust since its biennial election, which was held earlier this year.

Mr Holland, a Tauranga lawyer, has been a TECT Trustee since 2012. Mr Holland, who was born, raised and educated in Tauranga, is a partner of Holland Beckett, Lawyers. Mr Holland has a long list of involvement in community organisations including: Acorn Foundation, Community Foundations of NZ, Legacy Trust, Priority One, Holy Trinity, Tauranga Boys College Old Boys Assn, Tauranga Sunrise Rotary Club, and Tauranga Rowing Club. In 2012, Bill was awarded a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit in the Queen's Birthday Honours List for his services to the community.

Following his election to the position of Chairman, Mr Holland said “I am delighted to be appointed to the position, and look forward to further contributing to the growth of TECT. TECT’s contribution to the Tauranga/Western Bay community in terms of facilities, activities and events is enormous.  It is by far and away this community’s biggest funder of its type”.

Mr Holland also acknowledged previous chair Michael Cooney, saying “With the structural changes to the management of TECT that were undertaken under Michael Cooney’s leadership, I believe TECT will not only maintain its historic funding role, but will do so more effectively”.

Bruce Cronin was elected as Deputy Chairperson.

It was also the first meeting for newly elected Trustees Pete Blackwell and Paul Tustin who were elected by Consumers for four-year terms.

Full TECT Board:
Bill Holland (Chairperson)
Bruce Cronin (Deputy Chairperson)
Ken Collings
Ron Scott
Pete Blackwell
Paul Tustin

For further information please contact:
Bill Holland        Chairperson        027 696 5962  
Wayne Werder     General Manager       027 290 0055


Tags in this post: